>November 2017
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

SOSWestern & Hills Orienteers are assisting at the SOS series.

More details can be found at: and our SOS Calendar page.



Club high achiever at Wahroonga

Niamh Cassar was our best club performer at Garingal's Ultra Sprint event last Sunday, 15 July, at Wahroonga Park.

Niamh led the field of 16 runners in the Junior Women's division with a top time of 26:01. Eleven minutes ahead of Merle Nieman in second place at 37:02. Congratulations Niamh!

Just announced today, Tuesday 17 July: Niamh Cassar has been selected in to represent NSW in the Junior Girls Schools team for the Australian Championships in South Australia during the September-October school holidays. The other members of the Junior Girls team are Mikayla Enderby (NC), Iida Lehtonen (GO), Nea Shingler (BF). Reserves: Julia Barbour (BF), Louise Barbour (BF). Full details of the state team can be found on the ONSW website.

[Click on the logo to go directly to the Sydney Metropolitan Turkey Trot website.]

July 1, Cherrybrook/Westleigh

Short event runners line up in near freezing temperature in the park behind Apple Tree Scouts, Cherrybrook. Results and splits are available on the Turkey Trot website and Eventor. Photos and maps can be found on Facebook.

Organiser: Karen Langan. Planner and event director: James McQuillan. Technology: Tim Perry and the IT Team.


Club team results for State League events 10/11 at Wingelo and Belanglo 7/8 July


1st Barry Hanlon M80A (1); 1st Janet Morris W80A (1); 1st James McQuillan M35A (5); 1st Karen Langan EOD Moderate (5); 1st Robert Bradley M45AS (3); 2nd Matt Hackett M40A (3); 2nd Lynn Dabbs W65A (2); 2nd Niamh Cassar W16A (2); 4th Kevin Williams M70A (4); 8th Barry Pearce M75A (8).


1st Barry Hanlon Men 80A (1); 1st Janet Morris Women 80A (1); 1st Dan Smith Men 35AS (4); 1st Robert Bradley Men 45AS (5); 1st Lynn Dabbs Women 65A (2); 1st Matt Hackett Men 40A (2); 1st James McQuillan Men 35A (3); 2nd Niamh Cassar Women 16A (2); 2nd Nerise McQuillan Women 35AS (3); 3rd Karen Langan EOD Moderate (6); 8 Barry Pearce Men 75A (8).

A WHO Team 21 strong competed at the SOS term final

The Sweeneys were the highlight performers on the Cumberland Forest map in the School Divisions:

Long Line Open: 1st James McQuillan 25:51. Long Line High School: 1st Selwyn Sweeney 26:02; 2nd Niamh Cassar 29:18; 3rd Seth Sweeney 30:08. Short Line High School: 1st Selwyn Sweeney 16:42. Short Line Primary: 3rd Shay Sweeney 34:41.

Congratulations team.

The WHO Team results for QBIII

22 club members braved the winter weather to compete in the forests around Rylstone and Kandos.

Lynn Dabbs was our outstanding runner achieving overall first for the three days in Women 65A.

Notible achievers were: Women 10A 2nd Savanna Sweeney; Women 16A 2nd Niamh Cassar; Men 35A 2nd James McQuillan; Women 35AS 2nd Nerise McQuillan; Men 45AS 2nd Robert Bradley; Women 45AS 3rd Maureen Fitzpatrick; Women 80A 1st Janet Morris; Men 80A 1st Barry Hanlon.

A flashback...
from the latest "WHO News"...

New South Wales produced the winning relay team in the Junior Boys Class. L to R: Andrew Macken, Andrew Hill, Geoff Davis.

[From "The Australian Orienteer" November 1994.]

Honour Team

For the first time an Australian Honour Team was named, a common practice in Australian school sport competitions where all states are represented. The Honour Team is awarded medallions by the Australian School Sports Council and recognises individual performances on both days of competition. Up to four may be named in each age division. The team represents the individuals considered to be worthy of selection, were a Schools Team to be selected to compete for Australia.

Those named in the Honour Team were as follows: Senior Girls: Jo Allison (ACT), Kirsten Fairfax (Tas), Allison Jones (NSW), Emma Prime (Vic). Junior Girls: Shannon Jones (NSW), Julia Minty (ACT), Rebecca Minty (ACT), Libby Schofield (SA). Senior Boys: Damian Dawson (WA), Ben Schulz (Qld), David Shepherd (NSW), Tom Walter (ACT). Junior Boys: Gareth Candy (WA), Troy de Haas (Vic), Andrew Hill (NSW), Steven Jones (Vic).